## Minutes Special Meeting the Presbytery of Lake Huron July 18, 2017

A special meeting of the Presbytery of Lake Huron convened at 10:00am on Tuesday, July 18, 2017 at the Korean Presbyterian Church, 5560 McCarty Road, Saginaw, MI 48608 following prayer by the Moderator. The meeting was called to order following prayer by Elder CJ Merriman, Moderator of the Presbytery of Lake Huron, after having received an appropriately endorsed request, for the purpose of:

- 1. To hear the report of the Response Team, formed under the Gracious Discernment Policy for Congregations with Lake Huron Presbytery, on its work with the Fairgrove Presbyterian Church.
- 2. Approve the Response Team's request for the Moderator to appoint an Administrative Commission, as requested by the Session of the Fairgrove Presbyterian Church, to discern if that congregation may or may not be dismissed from the Presbyterian Church (USA).
  - a. The charter of the Administrative Commission will be to establish communication with the staff and the congregation; to work to understand the congregation's concerns and actions; make any recommendation it deems necessary to the Presbytery about further action.
  - b. The Commission shall have the authority to consult with Presbytery, Synod, and General Assembly as necessary. The Commission may retain legal counsel and consult with appropriate committees of the Presbytery to do their work.
  - c. The powers granted to the Commission will include:
    - convening boards and committees of the congregation including Session
    - interview the pastor, other staff and leaders, and members of the congregation
    - have access to pertinent church records
    - determine whether a congregational meeting is called for to advise the Presbytery concerning the relationship of the congregation to the Presbytery and the Presbyterian Church (USA)
      - i. to call such a meeting and provide the Moderator and Clerk for that meeting
      - ii. report the record of said meeting to the Session, the Coordinating Team, the COM and the Board of Trustees
    - to recommend to the Presbytery any action concerning the dissolution or dismissal of the congregation after consultation with the Board of Trustees, including the fulfillment of the Presbytery's fiduciary duty under the Trust Clause (G-4.0203 and per Tom v. Presbytery of San Francisco).

\*\*(charter, authority, and powers taken from the Presbytery's policy on Gracious Discernment)

## Preliminary Minutes of Special Called Meeting – July 18, 2017 Page 2

The Stated Clerk reported that a quorum was present and the Presbytery found the call for the meeting to be in order.

The Moderator read the purpose of the meeting.

The Rev. Jim Neumann gave the report of the Commission on Ministry Listening Team.

MOTION WAS SUSTAINED by a unanimous vote that the Moderator of Presbytery be empowered to appoint an Administrative Commission with the parameters, charter, and powers stated in the call of this special meeting, and that, in the midst of performing their primary duties, they also address the education of the membership in basic scope and limits of polity vis-á-vis positions taken by higher governing bodies, and pursue the two parallel options above concerning repentance and reconciliation between presbytery and Fairgrove PC, regardless of the final outcome of the process.

The Administrative Commission members are: Elders Janie Gugino (Saginaw-First), Adam Engel (Saginaw-Second), Andrea Drapp (Saginaw-Second) and Linda Smith (Flint-First) and the Revs. Scott Kroener and Dave Myers.

MOTION WAS SUSTAINED to adjourn at 10:05pm following prayer by CJ Merriman.

The following Commissioners were present:

Teaching Elders: Karen Blatt, Dan Saperstein, Scott Kroener, Ted McCulloch, Philomena Ofori-Nipaah, Jim Neumann, Glenn Grant, Ken Hetzel, Sharlyn Gates and Linda Graham.

Ruling Elders: Don Wixson (Sandusky), CJ Merriman (Lapeer-First), Craig Hardy (Flint-Trinity United), Tammy Hayhoe (Midland-Memorial), Doug Byron (Saginaw-Second), Janie Gugino (Saginaw-First), Karen Dastick (Midland-Memorial), Vicky Thum (Ithaca-First), Steve Franko (Vassar-First), Lynn Cramer (Fairgrove), Lillian Ostrom (Birch Run-Taymouth), Chris Wolf (Marlette-First and Second), Mary Pike (Fairgrove), Charlee Litten (Holly), Barbara Childs (Fairgrove) and Allen Childs (Fairgrove).

Presbytery Staff: Staci Percy, Tracy Carr and Rose Onan.

The Rev. Ted McCulloch Stated Clerk